Friday, February 29, 2008

This week's announced genre acquisitions and rights sales.

And here ya go. Busy week!
Theodore Judson's HELL CAN WAIT, in which a Roman general stuck in Limbo because clerks lost his paperwork is given a second chance to find happiness in an American town, to Brian Hades at Edge/Tesseract, by Richard Curtis of Richard Curtis Associates (US).

Game designer/scriptwriter Jonathan Howard's JOHANNES CABAL, in which a snob obsessed with raising the dead travels to Hell and back (twice) in the hopes of regaining his soul from a bored, sardonic, eccentric Satan, as a Faustian wager is made and the clock is ticking: Johannes must deliver 100 souls within one year for Satan to reward him with the return of his own to Alison Callahan at Doubleday, for mid-six figures, in a pre-empt, by Christy Fletcher and Melissa Chinchillo of Fletcher & Parry, on behalf of Sam Copeland of the Robinson Literary Agency (NA).

Black Crouch's ABANDON, set in a remote mining town high in the Rockies where two backcountry guides are leading a history professor, a journalist, a psychic, and a paranormal photographer deep into the Colorado wilderness to explore the fate of a group of people and an entire town that mysteriously vanished in 1893, to Michael Homler at St. Martin's, by Linda Allen of Linda Allen Literary Agency.

Elizabeth Moon's KING KIERI, set directly in the aftermath of the author's "Deed of Paksenarrion" series, describing the struggles of a new king to reunite a land torn asunder by war and riven by resurgent conflict between elves and man, to Liz Scheier at Del Rey, in a significant deal, in a three-book deal (for a likely trilogy), for publication in October 2009, by Joshua Bilmes at JABberwocky Literary Agency (NA).

Debut author Harry Connolly's urban paranormal HARVEST OF FIRE and two sequels, about the embattled driver for a wealthy sorceress whose allegiance to a secret society puts them in constant danger, to Betsy Mitchell at Del Rey, in a pre-empt, by Caitlin Blasdell at Liza Dawson Associates (world English).

WHITECHAPEL GODS author Shawn Peters's FAT GHOST OCEAN, in which a 22-year-old is a "binder," charged by The Man in the Empty Chair with imprisoning the mythical beasts from the ancient days of the Old Powers; the trouble is she wants to set them free, to Jessica Wade at Roc, in a nice deal, by Donald Maass at the Donald Maass Literary Agency (World English).

Erica Orloff's THE MAGICKEEPERS, about a rogue clan of Russian magicians who escaped Tsarist Russia, and who now hide their true identities in modern-day Las Vegas, and their battle against dark enemies to reclaim relics stolen from them by Harry Houdini and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, to Lyron Bennett at Jabberwocky, in a three-book deal, by Jay Poynor at The Poynor Group.

Ninni Holmqvist's UNIT, set within a dystopian society in which the "dispensable" ones are convinced under gentle coercion of the importance of giving organs to the "necessary" ones and submitting themselves to medical and psychological testing, to Corinna Barsan at Other Press, in a nice deal, by Magdelena Hedlund at Norstedts Agency (World English).

NIGHTLIFE author Rob Thurman's TRICK OF THE LIGHT, the first two books in a new series about a woman who is on the hunt for two things: the demon who killed her brother and the Light of Life, to Anne Sowards at Roc, by Jennifer Jackson of the Donald Maass Literary Agency.

Alex Bledsoe's BLOOD GROOVE, the first book in a new series with a vampire who resurrects sixty years after being staked to find a drastically changed world and more peril than he ever expected, to Paul Stevens at Tor, for publication in April 2009, by Marlene Stringer at Barbara Bova Literary Agency (World English).

John Brown sold a trilogy to David Hartwell and Stacy Hague-Hill at Tor. The books are described as "in the tradition of David Farland or Brandon Sanderson." The first, Servant of a Dark God, is about "a world where the days of a man's life can be harvested, bought, and stolen." It will be followed by Curse of a Dark God and Dark God's Glory. Agent Caitlin Blasdell at Liza Dawson Associates managed the sale. (via SFScope)

Keith Brooke sold his science fiction thriller The Accord to Solaris Consultant Editor George Mann. The Accord is "a virtual utopia where the soul lives on after death and your perceptions are bound only by your imagination. This is the setting for a tale of love, murder, and revenge that crosses the boundaries between the real world and this virtual reality.
Rights sales:
Italian rights to Erick Setiawan's debut novel OF BEES AND MISTS, a Gothic story of one woman's determination to dispell the haunting magic that is created by the people she loves and their own broken lives (currently on submission in the US), to Mondadori, in a pre-empt, by Lara Lea Allen on behalf of Alex Glass at Trident Media Group.

Helen Stringer's middle grade novel HOUSE OF MISTS, the story of a girl who lives with the ghosts of her parents just north of England, and goes on the adventure of a lifetime to find them when they disappear, to Rebecca McNally at Macmillan, in a pre-empt, in a two-book deal, by The Fielding Agency on behalf of Kristin Nelson at the Nelson Literary Agency.

Ali Shaw's THE GIRL WITH THE GLASS FEET, pitched as lying midway between Haruki Marukami and Susannah Clarke, this first novel tells the story of a young woman's quest to stop herself turning into glass, to Sarah Castleton at Atlantic Books, in a very nice deal, by Susan Armstrong at Conville & Walsh (World).

Russian rights to William Gibson's SPOOK COUNTRY, ALL TOMORROW'S PARTIES, IDORU, VIRTUAL LIGHT, NEUROMANCER, BURNING CHROME, COUNT ZERO, MONA LISA OVERDRIVE, and PATTERN RECOGNITION, to Nikolay Naumenko at AST, by Prava I Prevodi Agency, on behalf of Martha Millard at Martha Millard Literary Agency.

Jonathan Howard's JOHANNES CABAL THE NECROMANCER, a comic fantasy about a necromancer who makes a wager with the devil himself, to Piers Blofeld at Headline, in a three-book deal, by Sam Copeland of the Robinson Literary Agency.

Russian rights to Stephen Lawhead's HOOD, to AST-RELease, by Teri Tobias, in association with Andrew Nurnberg Associates Moscow, on behalf of Matt Bialer at Sanford J. Greenburger Associates.

Czech rights to Ekaterina Sedia's THE SECRET HISTORY OF MOSCOW, to Stanislav Juhanak at TRITON, by Milena Lukic of Prava I Prevodi, in association with Jennifer Jackson of the Donald Maass Literary Agency, on behalf of Prime Books.

Complex Chinese rights to Quill Award winner Patrick Rothfuss's THE NAME OF THE WIND, to Azoth Book, at auction, in a nice deal, in a three-book deal, by Whitney Hsu at Andrew Nurnberg Associates, on behalf of Matt Bialer at Sanford J. Greenburger Associates.

Joe Hill's just-released graphic novel LOCKE & KEY, about three kids who are caretakers of a mansion filled with secrets and magic, optioned to Dimension Films, by IDW Publishing, with John Davis producing.

Film rights to A Lee Martinez's novel IN THE COMPANY OF OGRES, about Never Dead Ned who discovers why he keeps returning from the dead, and suddenly realizes he must do everything he can to stay alive, optioned to Rough Draft Studios (The Simpsons Movie, Futurama), by Sarah Self at The Gersh Agency on behalf of Sally Harding at The Cooke Agency.

3 comments:

Rachel said...

Wow, more Paksennarion novels??! HELL YEAH! I loved those books so much when I was a kid, and I still read the omnibus of the trilogy every few years. Paks is one of my favorite heroines ever. She goes though hell on earth and still manages to stay a strong, wonderful person, but never in a conventional, Mary Sue way. Seriously one of the deepest characters, most tragic, most inspiring characters I've ever read, and Elizabeth Moon writes some of the best battle scenes I've ever read in fantasy. I'm SO buying that book the moment it hits the shelves.

Catherine J Gardner said...

Some intriguing books there - thanks for sharing.

Sara said...

I've been waiting to hear more news about the Paks universe continuation. This makes me so excited!

--Sara