Sunday, March 30, 2008

This week's announced genre acquisitions.

A slow week for genre acquisitions, folks. But here ya go:
Mark Teppo's PSYCHOBABEL, the sequel to hypertext serial novel THE ONEIROMANTIC MOSAIC OF HARRY POTEMKIN, to Darin Bradley at Farrago Press, in a nice deal, for publication in April 2009 (US).

Author of Venus Envy Shannon McKelden's VENUS GUY TRAP, the sequel in which the goddess-turned-fairy godmother finds herself unable to provide an Extreme Love Life Makever because all the "Prince Charmings" have the hots for her, again to Melissa Singer at Tor, in a nice deal, by Deidre Knight of The Knight Agency.

Alison Sinclair's DARKBORN, LIGHTBORN, and SHADOWBORN, a fantasy trilogy of magic and manners, espionage and romance in the tradition of Sarah Monette and Ellen Kushner, to Anne Sowards at Ace, by Caitlin Blasdell at Liza Dawson Associates (World English).

50 WAYS TO HEX YOUR LOVER and HEX APPEAL author Linda Wisdom's books #3 and #4 in the Witches Gone Wild series, in which 700-year-old youths, who were banished before graduation along with the other 11 seniors at the Witches Academy, relive the Salem Witch trials and confront a werewolf pack in modern day California, to Deb Werksman at Sourcebooks Casablanca, in a nice deal, for publication in Spring and Fall 2009, by Laurie McLean at Larsen/Pomada Literary Agents (World).

Vampire High author Douglas Rees's VAMPIRE HIGH: Sophomore Year, in which a student's goth cousin comes to town and, unfortunately for him, fits right in with the vampire kids at school, to Michelle Poploff at Delacorte, in a nice deal, for publication in Fall 2009, by Laurie McLean at Larsen/Pomada Literary Agents (World).

Neal Stephenson sold Anathem to Ravi Mirchandani at Atlantic Books via Rachel Calder at the Sayle Literary Agency. The book is "based in a universe similar to but not our own, where mathematicians and philosophers are sheltered from an illiterate and unpredictable 'saecular' world, until the day they must leave their safe haven to save the entire world from destruction." Expected publication date is September 2008. (via SF Scope)

3 comments:

brimfire said...

Out of curiosity, is there a secret language for announced deals? I see "nice deal", "very nice deal", "major deal", and then of course "six-figure deal" every once in a while. Is there a guideline for when a deal is nice versus very nice versus a major deal?

calendula-witch said...

Ooh! New Neal Stephenson! At long last! :-)

Thanks for posting this info, it's so fascinating. And I sent your word count post around to my crit group (we're reviewing a 140K chick lit novel this week...wayyyyy too long).

La Gringa said...

According to Publishers Marketplace where most of the info comes from, the deal breakdown is as follows:

"nice deal" = $1 - $49k
"very nice deal" = $50k - $99k
"good deal" = $100k - $250k "significant deal" = $251k - $499k
"major deal" = $500k and up