1. You own your information. Facebook does not. This includes your photos and all other content.
2. Facebook doesn't claim rights to any of your photos or other content. We need a license in order to help you share information with your friends, but we don't claim to own your information.
3. We won't use the information you share on Facebook for anything you haven't asked us to. We realize our current terms are too broad here and they make it seem like we might share information in ways you don't want, but this isn't what we're doing.
4. We will not share your information with anyone if you deactivate your account. If you've already sent a friend a message, they'll still have that message. However, when you deactivate your account, all of your photos and other content are removed.
5. We apologize for the confusion around these issues. We never intended to claim ownership over people's content even though that's what it seems like to many people. This was a mistake and we apologize for the confusion.
Wednesday, February 18, 2009
In response to all of the uproar over their new Terms of Service, Facebook has temporarily reverted back to their previous TOS. In addition, they've created a Facebook group called Facebook Bill of Rights & Responsibilities, where they are soliciting input from users about how to best word their new Terms of Service. They've also posted an apology: