Friday, April 30, 2010

Publishing Triangle Award Winners Announced:

The winners of the 22nd annual Publishing Triangle Awards were announced yesterday:
Winner of the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction:
Rebecca Brown for American Romances (City Lights Books)

Winner of the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction:
James Davidson for The Greeks and Greek Love (Random House)

Winner of the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry:
Stacie Cassarino for Zero at the Bone (New Issues Poetry & Prose)

Winner of the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry:
Ronaldo V. Wilson for Poems of the Black Object (Futurepoem Books)

Winner of the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction:
Lori Ostlund for The Bigness of the World (University of Georgia Press)

Winner of The Ferro-Grumley Awards for LGBT Fiction:
Sebastian Stuart for The Hour Between (Alyson Books)
(The Ferro-Grumley Award is presented by the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards, a co-sponsor of the Triangle Awards ceremony.)
Additionally, two other awards were given out:
The Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement:
Blanche Wiesen Cook received the Publishing Triangle’s Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award is named in honor of the legendary editor of the 1970s and 1980s.

Cook, a historian, activist, and scholar, has received near universal acclaim for her multibook biography of Eleanor Roosevelt. Volume 1, 1884-1933, published in 1992, won the Lambda Literary Award and Los Angeles Times Book Award. The second volume, The Defining Years, 1933-1938, appeared in 1999 and the final book is forthcoming. She is Distinguished Professor of History and Women’s Studies at the John Jay College and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York.

The editor of Crystal Eastman on Women & Revolution, Cook has also edited and contributed to many anthologies and written on LGBT issues throughout her career. For more than twenty years, she produced and hosted her own program for Radio Pacifica, “Women and the World in the 1980s” (originally called “Activists and Agitators”). She was a founder and co-chair of the Freedom of Information and Access Committee of the Organization of American Historians, which was actively committed to maintaining the integrity of the Freedom of Information Act.
Publishing Triangle's Leadership Award:
Veteran book publicist Michele Karlsberg is the winner of the Publishing Triangle’s Leadership Award. Created in 2002, this award recognizes contributions to lesbian and gay literature by those who are not primarily writers—editors, agents, librarians, and others.

As a book publicist, Karlsberg, has been an enthusiastic advocate of LGBT literature for two decades. Among the authors she has worked for are Kate Clinton, Bob Morris, Jewelle Gomez, Felice Picano, Ellen Hart, and Shawn Stewart Ruff, as well as the two most recent winners of the Publishing Triangle’s Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement, Katherine V. Forrest and Martin Duberman.

As curator of Outspoken, a nationwide gay and lesbian literary series, she helps new and established voices reach a wider audience. Karlsberg also has produced the first Olivia Book Expo on the Holland Americas line, and is the co-editor of the anthologies To Be Continued and To Be Continued Take Two.
For more information about Publishing Triangle, please visit their website.